The Women of Crooked Creek

Historical Western Romance/Western Fiction

Four courageous women, an untamed land, and the daring to embark on an unforgettable adventure. 

Meet the remarkable women willing to forge new lives in post-Civil War Montana Territory. 

"Emma of Crooked Creek" 

Emma Hawkins is a dedicated doctor in the little town of Crooked Creek, Montana Territory. Casey Latimer is a wounded soldier in search of a new home and a new beginning. When Casey, battered and bruised, quite literally falls at Emma's feet, she is bound by duty to help him. What happens next is something Emma never expected. 

"Hattie of Crooked Creek" 

Married three months before the war and now a widow, Harriett McBride can either give up and sell her ranch or fight for the life she and her husband came west to build. With the help of a friend and a stranger, she must stop the one who threatens all she holds dear. When Hattie is faced with an unexpected choice, will she bury her heart on the battlefield forever or find a way to love again? 

"Briley of Crooked Creek" 

Far from home and with no family left, Briley Donaghue answers an advertisement from a rancher seeking a wife in Montana Territory. She arrives in Crooked Creek to find an empty cabin, a letter from her fiancé, and too many unanswered questions. Alone and uncertain, Briley forges a new life in an unfamiliar land. 

"Clara of Crooked Creek" 

No longer willing to allow society’s opinion to influence her life, Clara Stowe sought a change, and what better place than the frontier. With her young daughter by her side, she embarks on an unexpected undertaking to the Montana Territory. With grit and determination, they arrive in Crooked Creek to shape the life Clara had always dreamed of and honor the memory of the one they lost.

If you love stories of bravery and courage with unforgettable women and the men they love, you'll enjoy The Women of Crooked Creek

"MK McClintock knows what readers want. A good collection of short stories."

— Readers' Favorite

The Healer of Briarwood_MK

"MK McClintock knows what readers want. A good collection of short stories."
—Readers' Favorite

"I love this new series, A Crooked Creek, which follow smart and independent heroines who settle in Montana during the 1800s."
—Goodreads review

"I LOVE this book! Each story is captivating. I read the whole book within 24 hours. I am now a fan of MK McClintock. I can’t wait to get more of her books!"
—Amazon review

"5 star's for this book! The Women of Crooked Creek is a delightful series. I enjoyed this book and hope you will too!"
—Amazon review

"Enjoyed meeting the different women! Each one had a different tale to tell. Recommend it as a good read to everyone."
—Amazon review

Large Print.png

Dearest Reader, 

Emma, Hattie, Briley, and Clara have brought such joy to my life, and I cannot wait to continue their adventures with the next books in the series. They have all been through so much, and survived. The women of this series are tender and strong, and the men are honorable and chivalrous. Together, they all find a way to overcome the obstacles life and the aftermaths of war have thrust upon them. I am so excited to share their journeys with you. You'll have a chance to meet many characters from this unique Montana town, but for now, I hope you enjoy this little glimpse into Crooked Creek.

Be well, be kind, and enjoy!

~ Mk




Stories 1-4

Available in E-Book, Paperback, & Large Print


Historical Western Romance/Western Fiction


western historical romance, western fiction, western fiction series, western romance series, western adventures, civil-war westerns


From "Briley of Crooked Creek," a story in THE WOMEN OF CROOKED CREEK

“With so much land in between homes and towns, it’s easy to get lost, and that’s what’s dangerous out here.” Peyton picked up the soup bowl and refilled it from the cast iron pot. He returned and handed it to Briley. “A little more should satisfy the doctor.”

Briley managed a small smile and took the bowl. “I do realize that I have a lot to learn about living on the Montana frontier.”

Peyton sat back in the table chair. “I don’t know you all that well yet, but this land has a way of bringing out the best and worst in people. You’ve survived your first storm, and that says something about what you’re capable of doing.”

Was she capable? Before they left Ireland, Briley might have questioned her own strength. The world had collapsed on her and so many others these past four years, but by a strong constitution, she’d survived. There were times when she marveled on how.

Briley glanced around the cabin. After only a week, it felt more like home than the small flat she shared with her family in New York. Here, memories and ghosts didn’t await her in every dark corner. She still met them from time to time in her dreams, but when awake, peace filled her heart and mind much as it had before the war. She’ll never know Christopher Smith, the man who would have been her husband, and yet, he’d given her a chance beyond her imaginings.

“Well, I haven’t quit yet, Sheriff,” she said with a smile. “I suppose it’s time to find out just how resilient I am.”

Excerpt © MK McClintock

Subscribe to News

Stay connected to make sure you never miss a new release! 



Many hours of reading enjoyment await.

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.

Disclosure of Material Connection: As an Amazon Associate, MK earns from qualifying purchases. Some of the links on this site are "affiliate links." Meaning that, at no additional cost to you, MK may earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase. We're disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."